#ISAutowk Authors honoured

 “Each year, ISA recognizes and thanks all authors/contributors who help review, develop and deliver technical resources to the automation profession,” said Susan Colwell, manager, Publications Development, ISA. The awards ceremony and reception were held during ISA Automation Week 2011 in Mobile, (Al US). The awards were presented to authors for their contributions to InTech magazine, ISA books, ISA Transactions and Standards.

Awards and recipients
The Keith Otto Award recognizes the authors of the best article in InTech magazine. The award was presented to Graham Nasby and Matthew Phillips for their article in the May/June 2011 issue of InTech entitled, SCADA standardization: Modernization of a municipal waterworks with SCADA standardization: Past, present, and planning for the future. Nasby designs automated control and monitoring systems for the municipal water/wastewater sector at Eramosa Engineering Inc. Phillips manages the planning, construction, operation and maintenance of the supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) infrastructure for the Water Services Department of Guelph, Ontario, Canada.

The Nels Tyring Award recognizes the author of the best article in one of the Society’s journals. Troy Miller is this year’s recipient for his January/February InTech cover story, Success in energy conservation: Emerging best practices, technologies in energy management. Miller is vice president of Glenmount Global Solutions (GGS). He has been in the automation, control and information industries for more than 15 years, with a focus on large-scale energy, industrial manufacturing and central-plant implementations.

Terry Blevins, Mark Nixon with ISA Pubs VP Eoin Ó Riain - Pic: Jim Cahill, Emerson's Blog Maestro!

The Raymond D. Molloy Award is given in honor of Raymond D. Molloy’s contributions to the automation profession. Molloy was a major driving force in the ISA publications program for more than 20 years and maintained a keen interest in ISA’s publication of high-quality books that meet the needs of measurement and control professionals. This award was presented to Terry Blevins and Mark Nixon, who are the 2010 best-selling ISA authors for their book Control Loop Foundation—Batch and Continuous Processes. Their book sold the most units of any new book published by ISA in 2010. It is also one of the first ISA books to be available as an eBook as reported recently.
Blevins has worked for more than 15 years as a systems engineer and group manager in the design and startup of advanced control solutions for the pulp and paper industry. Blevins was instrumental in the establishment of Emerson Process Management’s Advanced Control Program where he was the team lead for the development of DeltaV advanced control products. He is co-author of the 2002 ISA best-selling book entitled Advanced Control Unleashed, holds 36 patents and has written more than 65 papers on process control system design and applications. Presently, he is a principal technologist in the future architecture team of DeltaV Product Engineering at Emerson Process Management.
Nixon started his career as a systems engineer working on projects in oil and gas, refining, chemicals, and pulp and paper. He is currently active in the Center for Operator Performance, WirelessHART, the ISA-88 standard, Foundation Fieldbus standards and the ISA-101 standard. He has written numerous papers and currently holds more than 45 patents.
• See also Terry Blevin’s own blog “ISA Best Seller Award – Control Loop Foundation” (31/10/2011)

The Thomas G. Fisher Award is presented to the author of the best new standards-based ISA book in the relevant year. This year’s award was presented to Charlie Gifford for the book When Worlds Collide in Manufacturing Operations: ISA-95 Best Practices Book 2.0. This award is presented by the ISA Publications Department and the ISA Standards and Practices Department in honor of Fisher, a member and ISA Fellow who served the Society for many years. In particular, Fisher was Publications Department vice president; editor of ISA Transactions; author of books; contributor to standards committees of ISA84, ISA5.1 and ISA95; and the driving force of the ISA88 batch control committee.
For the past 27 years, Gifford, who is a Lean Operations Management consultant, has developed advanced manufacturing systems in direct support of continuous improvement initiatives in a wide variety of industries: aerospace, electronics, automotive, food and beverage, telecom, energy and life sciences. As a nationally recognized expert in combining Lean Manufacturing practices with Operations Management Systems, his background includes hands-on design, design supervision and team leadership in Production Transformation.

The ISA Standards and Practices Department Award was presented to William Nickerson for outstanding technical expertise and contributions in the development of ISA-TR100.14.01-2011, Trustworthiness in Wireless Industrial Automation: Part 1 – Information for End Users and Regulators.
Nickerson is an innovator and early adopter for all kinds of technologies. He has held research and development positions with the U.S. Navy and Penn State University. He earned a Bachelor of Science (BS) degree in Civil Engineering from Penn State and Master of Science in Engineering (MSE) degrees in Naval Architecture and Mechanical Engineering from Michigan. He is the recipient of the 2011 Jack Frarey Award for Excellence in the Field of Machinery Failure Prevention Technology (MFPT) by the Vibration Institute. A decade ago, Nickerson co-founded a business to develop practical wireless sensors, and he continues that quest today at Impact-RLW Systems.

ISA Transactions Best Paper Award recognizes the best technical paper published in ISA Transactions in the previous year. ISA Transactions plays an important role in maintaining ISA’s visibility and reputation in the automation and control research community. The paper, “Design and implementation of an automated secondary cooling system for the continuous casting of billets,” ISA Transactions, Vol. 49, No. 1, was judged to be the best paper published in the journal in 2010. ISA Transactions Editor-in-Chief, Russ Rhinehart, extended congratulations to Subhasis Chaudhuri, Rajeev Kumar Singh, Kuntal Patwari, Susanta Majundar, Asim Kumar Ray, Arun Kumar Prasad Singh and Nirbhar Neogi for their excellent contribution.

The evening closed with a special recognition award presented to Dr. R. Russell Rhinehart for his dedicated service and leadership during the past 14 years as editor-in-chief of ISA Transactions. Rhinehart has resigned his editor-in-chief position, effective at the end of this year. Dr. Ahmad Rad will be the new editor-in-chief starting January 2012.

About Eoin Ó Riain

Sé Read-out iris uaithoibríoch, ionstraim agus stiúradh na hÉireann agus an "Signpost" a áit ar an idirlín! Read-out is Ireland's journal of automation, instrumentation and control and the Instrumentation Signpost is it's web presence.
This entry was posted in Automation Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s